Virgil Van Dijk favourite for Player of the Year award

Virgil Van Dijk favourite for Player of the Year award

Liverpool defender Virgil Van Dijk has emerged as the bookies odds-on favourite for the PFA Player of the Year award.

The Dutch centre back has put in some commanding performances this season. At least enough to forgive him for a defensive miss communication with goalkeeper Allison in Liverpool’s recent match against Fulham on Sunday. His form this season has helped Liverpool conceded fewer goals and keep more clean sheets than any other side in the Premier League so far this season and it hasn’t gone unnoticed with the bookies backing him to win the PFA Player of the Year award.

Last January, Van Dijk transferred to Liverpool from Southampton for an eye-watering fee of £75 million. A world record for a defender at the time. Many were doubtful that he was worth the money paid but now, not many would be able to name a player to replace him. For anyone who still doubts him, needs just to look at his statistics.

Virgil Van Dijk has made more clearances, more blocks, more interceptions, won more duels, more ariels and completed more passes than any other Liverpool player this season. If that isn’t impressive enough, no player has yet successfully dribbled around the Dutch stopper in the 2755 minutes he has played in the Premier League this campaign! With statistics like that, it’s no surprise he is the bookies favourite for the award.

Bookmaker Bet365 currently have the best odds of Van Dijk collecting the award at 8/15 (1.53) and if he maintains his current form, there’s no reason why this doesn’t look like a good bet. The next favourite behind him is Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero at long odds of 6/1 (7.0).

Van Dijk’s form has caught the attention of the media in recent weeks with Liverpool currently topping the table and putting pressure on rivals Man City for the title. They have also reached the quarterfinals of the Champions League after a 3-1 win at Bayern Munich last week. A game in which Van Dijk marked his name of the scoresheet with a trademark header. The media coverage will delight some Football Index traders who own shares in the defender as they will make money not only through Van Dijk’s share price increasing through demand but also from dividends via mentions across a number of media websites.

Previous winners of the PFA Player of the Year include Mohamad Salah (2017-2018) N’Golo Kanté (2016-2017), Riyad Mahrez (2015-2016), Eden Hazard (2014-2015) and Luis Suárez (2013-2014).

By Matchedbets Experts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *